My Childhood

I was born and raised in a small southern Minnesota town and learned the value of hard work and working for what you want from my parents. I grew up working on the family and neighbors’ farms.


I watched my mother run a home daycare for almost 30 years and my father as the head mechanic in a shop in town while also running his own custom mechanic business on the side. I learned that staying out of debt and living modestly ensures you can provide for your family during tough times.

Life & Education

I graduated high school from a small Lutheran school with a class size of twelve. I found the love of my life in that class and we have been married since 2010. When I graduated high school I joined the Marine Corps and was stationed in Okinawa, Japan for 2 years and other bases in the United States.


After my time in the Marine Corps I went to the University of St. Thomas in St. Paul and graduated with a Mechanical Engineering degree. My wife graduated from Gustavus with an accounting degree and works at the Minnesota Department of Education. My wife and I have lived in St. Paul since 2010. We love our house and enjoy spending time with our neighbors.

Present Day

I am currently employed as a Project Engineer at Flint Hills Resources in Rosemount, MN. My wife and I had our first child, Ruby, in June 2013 and she has brightened our lives in ways I never imagined. We are expecting our second child in early 2015 and look forward to the joy another child will bring us.


In my spare time I like to tinker in the garage and work on projects. I have installed electric and hot air solar panels on our house and work on other energy saving projects. My wife and I like to garden, work in the yard together, and make wine from the fruits in our yard.